WASHINGTON ISLAND SCHOOL DISTRICT ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES

for the period of July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023 Tuesday, October 10, 2023 6:00 P.M. School Media Resource Center

Submitted by the Board of Education

Term Expires
Kirsten Purinton, President
April 2025
Mike Thielke, Vice President
April 2024
Michael Gillespie, Clerk
April 2024
Erika Sawosko, Treasurer
April 2024
Terry Foster, Member
April 2026

- 1. Call to Order & Pledge of Allegience, Kirsten Purinton, Board President
- 2. Motion to nominate Don Riewe as Annual Meeting Chairperson moved by Sue Cornell, seconded by Judy Jones. 9 yes votes. 1 abstention. Motion passed.
- 3. Motion to close nominations moved by Erika Sawosko, seconded by Terry Foster. 9 yes votes. 1 abstention. Motion passed.
- 4. Don Riewe elected to chair the annual meeting; Board President Kirsten Purinton vacated the chair spot to Don Riewe. 9 yes votes. 1 abstention.
- 5. Motion to approve the minutes of the 2022 annual meeting moved by Terry Foster, seconded by Judy Jones. 10 yes. 0 no. 0 abstentions. Motion passes.
- 6. Annual report State of the District Tim Verboomen, Principal/Curriculum Director and Sue Cornell, Administrator of Business Services
- 7. Treasurer's report Erika Sawosko, Board Treasurer
- 8. Presentation of the proposed budget for 2023-2024 –Sue Cornell
- 9. Hearing on the Budget A period of public comment is held.
- 10. Resolutions, presented by meeting chairperson Don Riewe:
 - A. Motion to set the Board of Education salary of \$200 per month for an annual salary of \$2,400 for the 2023-2024 school year moved by Alex McDonald, seconded by Tim Verboomen. 5 yes. 0 no. 4 abstain. Motion passes.
 - B. Motion that the School District will furnish, free of charge to students, all books, workbooks and classroom resources for the 2023-2024 school year moved by Erika Sawosko, seconded by Terry Foster. 11 yes. 0 no. 0 abstain. Motion passes.
 - C. Motion that the School District will provide free transportation, to and from school, for all pupils who reside in the district, including those that are less than two miles from the school during the 2023-2024 school year moved by Erika Sawosko, seconded by Mike Thielke. 10 yes. 0 no. 0 abstain. Motion passes.
 - D. Motion for adoption of tax levy for the 2023-2024 school year in order to finance the proposed school budget moved by Sue Cornell, seconded by Judy Jones. 10 yes. 0 no. 0 abstain. Motion passes.
 - E. Motion to establish the 2024 Annual Meeting time, place and date as October 15th, 2024 at the Washington Island School at 6 p.m., and grant board authority to change if necessary moved by Mike Gillespie, seconded by Terry Foster. 10 yes. 0 no. 0 abstain. Motion passed.
- 11. Motion to adjourn the annual meeting moved by Sue Cornell, seconded by Mike Thielke. 10 yes. 0 no. 0 abstain. Motion passed. Meeting adjourned at 7:36 p.m.